WEDDING FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
WHAT DO I NEED TO GET MARRIED IN FLORIDA?
The State of Florida requires couples to read the Family Law Handbook and obtain a marriage license before a ceremony can be performed. Marriage licenses can be paid for and obtained through the county clerk of court. Specific fees may vary from County to County or dependent on if you are an out-of-state resident, a Florida resident, or an international resident.
Marriage licenses are valid for 60 days from the issue date and are only valid in the state of Florida.
FLORIDA RESIDENT REQUIREMENTS
The couple can apply for the marriage license online but must go together to the clerk of court to purchase their marriage license in person. Both must have a valid photo ID such as a driver's license, state ID, government or military ID, or a passport. A social security number is also required to obtain a marriage license. If either party was previously married and divorced, the date of the divorce will be required. Dependent upon the date of the divorce you may need a certified copy of the recorded final order. Upon receiving the marriage license there is a 3-day waiting period for Florida residents.
CAN I SKIP THE WAITING PERIOD?
If you are an out-of-state or International resident the waiting period is waived.
For Florida residents, you can skip the waiting period if you complete a qualified premarital preparation course no more than a year prior to applying for your marriage license.
OUT-OF-STATE OR INTERNATIONAL RESIDENT
The process for obtaining a marriage license for an out-of-state resident is much like that of a Florida State resident. However, there is no waiting period for out-of-state residents.
For international residents, you must obtain a marriage license and have a valid passport as your form of identification. Both parties must be present to apply but again the 3-day waiting period and premarital preparation courses are not required.
For any other requirements or clarification please contact the clerk of court.
WHAT DO I DO WITH MY MARRIAGE LICENSE AFTER THE CEREMONY?
Now that you've gone and said your I do's, your marriage license must be certified via your signatures and my notarial seal. I will then return your license, within 10 days, to the issuing clerk of court to be filed and recorded. That process takes approximately 60 days.
HOW MUCH DO YOUR SERVICES COST?
We pride ourselves on providing meaningful and memorable ceremonies that are affordable but worth every penny.
Our packages begin at $150.